About Us

The Welles Park Parents Association ("WPPA") is a parent volunteer organization that operates in cooperation with the Chicago Park District to provide baseball instruction to neighborhood children. The association has obtained both Federal and State tax exempt charitable organization status. While WPPA's home base is Welles Park in Lincoln Square, the league utilizes a number of other parks throughout the northside, including Winnemac Park, Legion Park, River Park, Mather Park, Hollywood Park, Green Briar Park and Rodgers Park.

Chicago Park District personnel are not responsible for the operation of WPPA, which is organized and operated by parent volunteers.  Accordingly, please direct any questions or inquires about WPPA to the appropriate board member, not Chicago Park District personnel.  General inquires and questions can be emailed to info@wppachicago.org.

Philosophy

The goal of our program is to teach baseball/softball fundamentals and good sportsmanship to kids in a positive and enjoyable atmosphere.  We consider our youth baseball program an instructional league.   Participants in WPPA Youth Baseball are separated into leagues or divisions based on their ages.  Each age group has rules variations designed to match the skill level of the participants.  This allows the children to experience success while developing the skills needed to compete at the next level.

We believe practice is essential in developing the skills players need to succeed in game situations.  Regardless of the players’ age level, all coaches are required to hold regular practices.  No coach should put any of their team members in situations for which they are not prepared.

Before each season, our more experienced coaches evaluate the players and a draft is conducted in each league/division.  The goal of the draft is to evenly distribute the talent and create competitive teams so that the season is enjoyable for all of the kids.  Hopefully, this makes the season more enjoyable for the coaches too, as we try to avoid situations where a few coaches have "stacked" teams.

We believe that our goals as an instructional league are not inconsistent with the spirit of competition.  In our program, we keep score, publish standings, and (with the exception of the Rookie League), we have playoffs and league championship competitions.  We believe that these are important measures of success and improvement.  We also believe that teamwork and sportsmanship are an integral part of all good competition.  We hope the kids will take these values with them as participants in the program and beyond.  We expect our coaches to set a good example and to be role models in this regard.

Board of Directors

All parents that enroll their child in the program become members of the association. A board that consists of 21 officers makes the operating decisions.  These officers, commissioners and a representative of the park district staff, comprise the voting members of the WPPA board.  Regular board meetings are held on the first Thursday of each month at 7:30pm throughout the year at the Welles Park Field House. All members of the association are welcome to attend.

2020 Officers, Directors and Executive Committee
Name Role Email Address
Ross Kerr President president@wppachicago.org
David Saunders VP - Secretary and Development secretary@wppachicago.org
Rob Swenson VP - Treasurer treasurer@wppachicago.org
Scott Barsky VP - Fields & Scheduling scheduling@wppachicago.org
Shawna Ryan VP - Sponsorships sponsorship@wppachicago.org
2020 Directors
Name Role Email Address
Ben Look Major Commissioner major@wppachicago.org
Brett Williams Equipment equipment@wppachicago.org
David Kunkle Minor Commissioner minor@wppachicago.org
Gabriel Morales Rookie Commissioner rookie@wppachicago.org
Jamie Schupp Registration & Vendor Management registration@wppachicago.org
Jen Patras Softball 8/10U 8u10usoftball@wppachicago.org
Jeremy Stump Travel Coordinator travel@wppachicago.org
Michael O'Brien Senior Commissioner senior@wppachicago.org
Kristin Reynolds Softball 12/14U 12u14usoftball@wppachicago.org
Mark Kromkowski Special Events events@wppachicago.org
Mickey MacMillan Baseball Operations operations@wppachicago.org
Ronnie Minc Junior Commissioner junior@wppachicago.org
Sheila Murphy Fundraising & Fall Softball Commissioner fundraising@wppachicago.org
Steve Holowka Liberty Commissioner liberty@wppachicago.org
Steve Reaven Fields fields@wppachicago.org
© 2020 Welles Park Parents Association.
Home | Privacy Policy